January 28, 2023
Troy Dolinschek

Troy Dolinschek of South Africa won the 2022 Online Karting League Africa (OKLA) Launch Cup, which took place from November 1 to November 22.

The South African dominated his competition, finishing first with 115 points after three rounds, 25 points clear of second-placed Jurie Swart (90 points) and 37 points ahead of third-placed Jason Coetzee (78 points).

The first round of the competition took place at the Vereeniging Kart Circuit (VKC), with Troy finishing first ahead of Luca Stermin in second and Jurie Swart in third.

The competition’s 23 sim racers competed on the iDube Raceway in Round 2, and while Jurie Swart clawed his way back, scoring some vital points on overall leader Troy Dolinschek, it wasn’t enough to knock him off his perch.

Troy would win the gold and the R5,500 ($324) first-place prize in the final round of the online competition at the Zwartkops Raceway, defeating Jurie Swart and Jason Coetzee. Jurie Swart would receive R3000 ($176) for finishing second, while Jason Coetzee would receive R1500 ($88) for finishing third.

The final standings for the 2022 Online Karting League Africa (OKLA) Launch Cup are as follows:

1Troy Dolinschek102515251525115
2Jurie Swart1220122261890
3Jason Coetzee98920122078
4Luca Stermin151831601466
5John-Henri Vaughan001018102260
6Shan Laubscher61461071255
7Jude Stuart547081640
8Andrew Thomas0105801033
9Maahir Wahab028140832
10Chase Herholdt822000030
11Quinton Laubscher10259724
12Shaun Strydom716000023
13Ryan Berrington-Smith360120021
14Melvin Trollip00474520
15Jan Spamers012040016
16Marc Pollard25005012
17Sebastian Ferreira00063312
18William Marshall07130011
19Sebastian Dias40001611
20John Stuart0000246
21Wayne Wortley0300003
22Paul Venter0100001
23Eli Vergara0000000

The 2022 Online Karting League Africa (OKLA) Launch Cup was organised by the professional South African esports team Against All Odds Esports (AAOE) with support from the motorsports store AfroRacing. The competition brought together 23 of the continent’s finest sim racers to compete for the R10,000 ($588) prize pool.